SC refuses interim order against 6 Raj BSP MLAs' merger into Cong

KT NEWS SERVICE. Dated: 8/14/2020 12:16:07 PM

NEW DELHI, Aug 13: Ahead of the Rajasthan Assembly session on Friday in which Chief Minister Ashok Gehlot may seek the trust vote, the Supreme Court on Thursday refused to grant an interim relief to stay merger of six BSP MLAs of Rajasthan into the Congress as allowed by the Assembly Speaker.
In a brief hearing on the petition of BJP MLA Madan Dilawar, a Bench headed by Justice Arun Mishra decided to wait for the Rajasthan High Court's hearing in the same matter on Friday. The Bench comprising Chief Justice Sharad Arvind Bobde and Justices B R Gavai and Krishna Murari declined plea of Dilawar's counsel to disallow the six ex-BSP MLAs from participating in the Assembly proceeding.
"Any transaction that takes place (in the Assembly) will obviously be subject to the Court's order," the Bench said, deferring further hearing to Monday.
With the political crisis from the rift in the Congress has blown away and hence it makes no difference to the Chief Minister on whether the BSP MLAs for for the government or not as he has enough number even without these six defectors from the BSP.



Indian History... Read More



Daily horoscope