Saturday, June 23, 2018
Kashmir Times Logo
Jammu Kashmir
LC Dy Chairman, 5 others retiring on April 19
Elections on April 17
JAMMU, Mar 16: The Deputy Chairman Jehangir Hussain Mir and five other MLCs would cease to be the members of the Jammu and Kashmir Legislative Council on April 19, 2017.

According to a notification issued by Haji Anayat Ali, Chairman Legislative Council, the other members completing their tenure on April 19, 2017 include Master Noor Hussain (Jammu), Dr S Bashir Ahmad Veeri (Kashmir), Jugal Kishore Sharma (Jammu), Yasir Reshi (Kashmir) and late S Dharambir Singh (Kashmir), who died on December 31, 2016.

In the meanwhile, the Chief Electoral Officer Shantmanu today held a meeting with the officers of Legislative Assembly Secretariat here to discuss the arrangements to be put in place for the smooth conduct of biennial elections to elect the Members of Jammu & Kashmir Legislative Council (MLCs).

The elections for 6 seats of the Upper House are to be held on April 17, 2017. The voting hours have been fixed from 9:00AM to 4:00 PM. The counting will be held on the same day. The formal notification in this regard would be issued on March 22, 2017.

As many as 87 elected and 2 nominated Members of Legislative Assembly (MLA) will take part in polling through open ballot.

Secretary, J&K Jammu & Kashmir Legislative Assembly will be Returning Officer, while Deputy Secretary Jammu & Kashmir Legislative Assembly will be Assistant Returning Officer for the conduct of elections.

Secretary, Jammu & Kashmir Legislative Assembly Mohammed Ramzan, besides other senior officers of State Election Department and Legislative Assembly were present in the meeting.

News Updated at : Friday, March 17, 2017
Comment on this Story 

Top Stories of the Day  
Gilgit, Baltistan, PoK integral parts of India: Nirmal
JAMMU, Mar 16: Against the backdrop of reports that Pakistan is all set to make Gilgit, Baltistan its province, Deputy Chief Minister Dr Nirmal Singh today said that “both the regions and Pakistan-occupied-Kashmir (PoK) are and will remain integral parts of India.” On Chief Minister Mehbooba Mufti pitching for revocation of the Armed Forces Special Powers Act, he said, “Consideration can be given to the areas having peace and calm.” “AFSPA withdrawal can be thought, only if peace prevails, he
> Separatists call for election boycott
> ICPS to work on minors who are denied their rights
> Omar's suggestion to Oppn not applicable to J&K: Mir
> Photojournalists manhandled, media persons protest
> NC files complaint to EC
Other Stories from Web  
Find us on
Weather Report
Shridev Sharma
Mata Vaishnodevi | Matavaishnodevi | Mata Vaishno Devi
Electric Blanket | Electric Bed Warmers | Electric Under Blankets | Electric Heating Blanket
Web Design Jammu, Web Design Company, Ideogram Jammu
Home | Contact Us | Kashmir Times | Kashmir Times E-Paper - Jammu | Kashmir Times E-Paper - Srinagar | Dainik Kashmir Times | Jammu Prabhat
Copyright 2013 Kashmir Times Group. All rights reserved. Powered by Ideogram Technology Solutions Pvt. Ltd.