Sunday, June 24, 2018
Kashmir Times Logo
Jammu Kashmir
LC biennial polls today, 3 in fray for 2 seats
CEO reviews arrangements
JAMMU, Apr 16: The polling for two seats from Jammu province under biennial elections to the Legislative Council will be held tomorrow.

Three candidates viz., PDP candidate Abdul Qayoom Dar, BJP candidate Vikram Randhawa and Congress candidate Thakur Balbir Singh are in fray for these two seats from Jammu province.

In this connection, the Chief Electoral Officer, J&K Shantmanu, who is also observer for the conduct of biennial elections to the Legislative Council, today visited Legislative Assembly Secretariat here and took stock of the arrangements put in place for the smooth conduct of elections to elect the Members of Legislative Council (MLC).

The Members of the Legislative Assembly (MLAs) will cast their votes through open ballot from 9:00 AM to 4:00 PM. The counting of votes and results will be declared tomorrow only.

Given the numerical strength of PDP-BJP alliance and NC-Congress combine, in all likelihood, PDP’s Abdul Qayoom Dar (being in first preference for coalition) is likely to sail through without any hiccup.

BJP’s Vikram Randhawa, fighting against unsafe seat, is locked in a keenly fought contest with NC-Congress candidate Balbir Singh, with the latter having better chances to make it to the Upper House in the present number game.

There were 8 candidates in fray for elections to 6 seats of the Legislative Council which will fall vacant due to retirement of 6 LC members on April 19.

Out of the total 8 candidates in fray, four candidates namely Yasir Reshi, G L Raina, Aga Syed Mehmood and Pradeep Sharma made their entry to the Upper House unopposed as there was no candidate in fray. One candidate Ashok Kumar Bhat withdrew his candidature.

Earlier this morning, the Chief Electoral Officer went round the Legislative Assembly Secretariat Central Hall, and enquired about the arrangements put in place there.

Briefing the Chief Electoral Officer about the arrangements, Secretary, J&K Legislative Assembly Mohammed Ramzan, who has been appointed as Returning Officer for the election, informed that all arrangements had been made with necessary paraphernalia, saying that the ballot box would be sealed in presence of authorized agents of the political parties before commencement of polling.

Chairing a joint meeting of officers of Assembly Secretariat and Election Department, the Chief Electoral Officer also discussed the procedure of voting and counting of votes threadbare.

Among others Joint Chief Electoral Officer Raman Kumar Kesar, Joint Director Information, Jammu Manisha Sarin, Deputy Chief Electoral Officer Krishan Lal, Deputy Secretary, Jammu & Kashmir Legislative Assembly appointed as Assistant Returning Officer also accompanied the Chief Electoral Officer.

News Updated at : Monday, April 17, 2017
Comment on this Story 

Top Stories of the Day  
Mir condemns beating of college students, killings
SRINAGAR, Apr 16: PCC chief G A Mir today strongly condemned the beating of dozens of college students in Pulwama and killing of a youth in security forces firing at Batamaloo yesterday. In a statement, Mir claimed that chief minister Mehbooba Mufti was acting as a silent spectator to such incidents. “It is very unfortunate indeed. The security forces should not have entered into college premises to beat the students. What message they wanted to convey to the people. Such type of action by p
> Security agencies leaking videos: Rasheed
> BJP MLA from Kathua suffers ‘poisoning’
> Jawan injured in mine blast
> Indian, Pak troops trade fire on Rajouri LoC
> Power supply hit due to fire in Gladni station
Other Stories from Web  
Find us on
Weather Report
Shridev Sharma
Mata Vaishnodevi | Matavaishnodevi | Mata Vaishno Devi
Electric Blanket | Electric Bed Warmers | Electric Under Blankets | Electric Heating Blanket
Web Design Jammu, Web Design Company, Ideogram Jammu
Home | Contact Us | Kashmir Times | Kashmir Times E-Paper - Jammu | Kashmir Times E-Paper - Srinagar | Dainik Kashmir Times | Jammu Prabhat
Copyright 2013 Kashmir Times Group. All rights reserved. Powered by Ideogram Technology Solutions Pvt. Ltd.