GDC Kathua lifts Inter-Collegiate Hockey title 2017-18

KT NEWS SERVICE. Dated: 11/11/2017 12:02:49 AM

JAMMU, Nov 10: The GDC Kathua Inter-Collegiate Hockey title 2017-18 beating the Govt MAM College team by 5-4 goals in the final match played today at the University Hockey Field.
The tournament was organized by the Directorate of Sports & Physical Education, University of Jammu. Total ten teams participated in the tournament. The final match remained one-one draw in the stipulated time and decided through the tie-breaker.
Sandeep Singh scored a field goal for the Kathua team in the 28th minute in the stipulated time.
Sahil Chib scored a goal for the MAM College team in the 54th minute in the stipulated time.
In the tie-breaker (shot out) Gopal Singh, Sukhwinderpal Singh, Jagmeet Singh and Sandeep Singh scored goals for the GDC Kathua team.
For the MAM College team Gurpreet Singh, Harsh Vaid and Sahil Chib scored goals in the tie-breaker.
Both the teams played good game which was appreciated & enjoyed by the spectators.
Prof RD Sharma, Vice Chancellor, University of Jammu was the chief guest of the valedictory function. Prof Sharma interacted with the players of both the teams and officials of the tournament and also awarded trophy to the winner team along with Prof. Avtar Singh Jasrotia, Director, Directorate of Sports & Physical Education, University of Jammu.
Those present included Prof JP Singh Joorel (Director HRD Centre University of Jammu, Dr Neeraj Sharma (Spl. Secretary to the Vice Chancellor), Prof Ashok Kumar, Prof Subhash Sharma, Prof Kuldeep Singh, Sumnesh Sharma (Physical Director), Pawan Singh Bhau, Gurpreet Singh, Rajinder Singh, Harmanan Singh, Gagan Kumar, Vikas Karlopia, Ravish Vaid, Jai Bharat, Dr Brij Baloria, Ramesh Magotra, Harinderpal Singh and Arjun Singh Chib.
The match was officiated by Karanjeet Singh, JS Reen, Harmeek Singh, Harvinderpal Singh and PD Singh.
Weightlifting (Men) : GDC Rajouri won the overall trophy by securing 17 points and GDC Paloura remained runner-up with 09 points.
The details: 56 kg category : Mukhtar Hussain GDC Rajouri (Gold), Divyanshu GDC Kathua (Silver) and Rajat Sasan,GDC Rajouri (Bronze). 62 kg category: Vishal Singh, GDC Rajouri (Gold), Mukesh Laria, GDC Paloura (Silver) and Ajay, GDC, Khour (Bronze). 69 kg category: Goutam Sharma, GDC Akhnoor (Gold), Akshay Choudhary, GDC, Paloura (Silver) and Vishal, GDC Rajouri (Bronze).
77 kg category: Ritesh Bhawani, SPMR College (Gold), Vikrant Kangotra, GDC Paloura (Silver) and Paramjit Singh, PG Department. 94 kg category: Manzoor, MAM College (Gold), Shubam Kerni, GGM Science College(Silver), Vinay Mishra ,SPMR College (Bronze).
The championship was officiated by Dr. Dhanraj Singh Salathia, Dayal Singh, Aman Khajuria, Nitin, Parveen & Harish Sharma.
Cricket (Men) : The SPMR College of Commerce won the toss & scored 147 runs in 18 overs. The GDC Rajouri team scored 118 runs in 12 overs and SPMR College of commerce won the match by 29 runs.
The GDC Basohli won the toss and scored 133 runs in 17 overs. The GCET Jammu scored 92 runs in 14.1 overs and GDC Basohli team won the match by 41 runs.



Indian History... Read More



Daily horoscope