Jammu, Baramulla LS seats going to polls in 1st phase today

KT NEWS SERVICE. Dated: 4/11/2019 4:15:17 PM

All necessary arrangments made: Officials

SRINAGAR, Apr 10: The Jammu and Baramulla Lok Sabha constituencies in the state are going to polls in the first phase tomorrow.
Elaborate security and other related arrangements have been made in both the constituencies, officials said.
Baramulla constituency is going to polls amid a shutdown call by separatists. Syed Ali Shah Geelani, chairman Hurriyat Conference (G) and some militant groups have called for an election boycott.
Compared to Srinagar and Anantnag Lok Sabha constituencies, Baramulla constituency has repeatedly recorded higher poll percentage in past. Baramulla constituency comprises of Baramulla, Kupwara and Bandipora districts.
Voting is scheduled tomorrow in Jammu and Baramulla Lok Sabha constituencies from 7.00 AM to 6.00 PM.
“All necessary preparations and security arrangements are in place for the smooth conduct of the elections,” chief electoral officer (CEO) Shalinder Kumar told media.
Baramulla has 13,12,148 voters and nine candidates are in the fray. 1,749 polling stations have been set up there.
The constituency will witness a contest among Mohammad Akbar Lone of the National Conference, Raja Aijaz Ali of the Peoples Conference (PC), Abdul Qayoom Wani of the PDP and the independent candidate, Engineer Rashid.
BJP has fielded M M War and Congress Haji Farooq Mir from there.
In Jammu constituency, 10,70,014 voters would decide the fate of 24 candidates.
The main contestants are Jugal Kishore Sharma of the BJP, Raman Bhalla of the Congress, Prof Bhim Singh of the Jammu and Kashmir National Panthers Party (JKNPP), Choudhary Lal Singh of Dogra Swabhiman Sangathan, Badrinath of Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) and Javid Ahmad of All India Forward Block.
National Conference (NC) and the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) have not fielded any candidates in this constituency. NC directly supports Congress, while PDP said that it did not field a candidate to prevent division of secular votes.



Indian History... Read More



Daily horoscope