J&K team selected for 1st IMF All India Speed and Bouldering competition

KT NEWS SERVICE. Dated: 4/12/2019 12:48:35 AM

JAMMU, Apr 11: Mountaineering Association of J&K has selected 12 climbers including 8 girls for participation in the 1st IMF All India Speed and Bouldering competition scheduled to be organized at Indian Mountaineering Foundation, New Delhi from April 20 to 21.
The almost new look team is a blend of experience & fresh talent. While Shivani Charak is an international climber who is currently ranked number 1 in the country in the Women’s category, Mrityunjay Sharma also an international climber, is making a comeback after a year. Ajay Deep Singh and Arun Deep Singh, who are ranked 8th and 11th in the country in the Boys category, are also national medalists. Asma Gul, a hugely talented climber who is ranked 6th in the country and Shilpa Charak are also a dominant force at the zonal level.
The other climbers Vishali Sharma, Manisha Kumari, Raghni Devi, Roshni Devi and Reema Devi in the Women’s category and Keshwam Dev Singh in the Sub Junior Boys category are all fast upcoming talented climbers who have the urge and the ability to perform well at the national level.
The team was selected on the basis of trials conducted by the Association on 8th April at Sprawling Buds ICSE School, Bantalab, Jammu, under the supervision of Joint Secretary of the Association Shawetica Khajuria who is also a National Judge of the game. Shawetica Khajuria was ably assisted by Shashi Kant Sharma, the trainer of the state team and Shivani Charak, an international sport climber.
Divisional Sports Officer (Jammu) Ravi Singh, Observer from J&K State Sports Council; General Secretary, Mountaineering Association of J&K Ram Khajuria, Director of Sprawling Buds School Rahul Sharma and Sonam Sidharth, an executive member of Mountaineering Association of J&K were prominent among other officials present on the occasion.
The screening of the team has also been conducted by Ravi Singh Divisional Sports Officer and Satish Gupta, Manager, Indore Sports Complex, Jammu.
Meanwhile, 5 climbers including Shivani Charak, Mrityunjay Sharma, Ajay Deep Singh, Arun Deep Singh and Asma Gul who are potential medal winners at the national competition left today for Delhi for 9 days coaching and practice at the international standard climbing walls in the IMF complex, just prior to the competition at the same venue on April 20 and 21.
Now the remaining seven members of the team shall also undergo a nine days coaching camp from 11th to 19th April at Sprawling Buds ICSE School, Bantalab, Jammu under the supervision of Shashi Kant Sharma, the present trainer of the state team. The state team has been sponsored by J&K State Sports Council.



Indian History... Read More



Daily horoscope